

### August 27, 2014

The Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers (SNAME) will recognize four individuals for their outstanding contributions to naval architecture, marine engineering or ocean engineering and ship research. The annual achievement medals will be presented at the SNAME Annual Banquet, on Thursday, October 23, 2014, held in conjunction with the 2014 SNAME Maritime Convention in Houston, Texas.

<u>THE DAVID W. TAYLOR MEDAL</u> for notable achievement in naval architecture and/or marine engineering will be presented to **Mr. Howard Fireman**, Vice President, Operational & Environmental Performance, American Bureau of Shipping (ABS).

THE VICE ADMIRAL EMORY S. "JERRY" LAND MEDAL for outstanding accomplishment in the marine field will be presented to Mr. David Rathburn, CEO, US Joiner LLC.

**THE DAVIDSON MEDAL** for outstanding scientific accomplishment in marine research will be presented to **Prof. Jorgen J. Jensen**, Professor, Technical University of Denmark, Mechanical Engineering.

**THE WILLIAM M. KENNEDY AWARD** for outstanding service and contribution in the development of systems and planning applying to shipbuilding and repair will be presented to **Mr. Albert L. Bossier Jr.,** Former President (Retired), Avondale Shipyards

# SNAME ANNOUNCES AWARDS TO BE PRESENTED AT THE AWARDS LUNCHEON ON FRIDAY, OCTOBER 24, 2014

The Society or Naval Architects and Marine Engineers will present the following awards at the Annual President's Luncheon on Friday, October 24, 2014:

#### 50-YEAR GOLDEN MEMBERSHIP CERTIFICATES

Membership Certificates representing 50 years of SNAME membership will be presented

Mr. Eric Birksted

Mr. Charles J. Cannon III

Mr. Allen Chin

Mr. James Arthur Claffey

Mr. H. Paul Cojeen

Capt. John Madison Cox

Mr. Agnar Erlingsson

Mr. Philip A. Fecher Jr.

Mr. Vincent J. Ferraro Jr.

Mr. Alan A Gilbert

Mr. Robert J Golden

Mr. James Joseph Goodwin

Mr. Gerald Stephen Hanley

Mr. Peter Emerson Jaquith

Mr. Robert Frederick Kress

Mr. Thomas Samuel Leeper

Mr. Trevor Lewis-Jones

Mr. Emilio F Malvicini

Dr. Henry S. Marcus

Mr. Terry A. McKay

Mr. Louis H Mensen

Mr. Dave S. Miller

Mr. David G. Moorhead

Dr. Bruce Crawford Nehrling

Mr. Salvatore Nicotra

Mr. Jay Eldon Paris Jr.

Mr. Michael Owen Poynor

Mr. Gude P. Rao

Mr. Richard C. Rodi

Dr. Thomas E. Schellin

Mr. Louis G Scliris

Dr. Robert A.Sielski

Mr. Joel D. Snyder III

Mr. Alexander B Stavovy

Mr. Edward C Stewart

Capt. Edmund C. Mortimer

Dr. Bruce H. Adee

Mr. Fred C. Bailey

Mr. Aubrey H Burrow

Mr. Pham Chopra

Prof. Jose Femenia

Mr. Peter Goldbeck-Lowe

Mr. Salvadore J. Guarino

Mr. Subba Rao Kodali

Mr. Alexander C. Landsburg

Mr. George Livadas

Mr. Daniel Joseph Mahler

Mr. Foster T. Manning

Mr. David P. Martin

Mr. Arne J. Martinsen

Mr. E Michael McGrath

Mr. Hans F Muhlert

Mr. Paul W. Risseeuw

Mr. Charles D Rose

Capt. Kent M Savage

Mr. John J. Slager Mr. Joseph W. Snedden Jr.

Mr. Edward John Stock

Mr. Charles Reynolds Strommer

Dr. Peter Michael Swift

Mr. Gurbachan Singh Virk

Mr. David Brice Waller

Mr. William A. Wood

Mr. David B. Wyman

Mr. Bernard John Young

Mr. Paul P. Zankich

Prof. Horst Nowacki

Mr. Edward W.H. Clendenning

Mr. Howard A. Chatterton Jr.

<u>THE 2014 ELMER L. HANN AWARD</u> for the best paper presented at the Ship Production Symposium, will be presented to **Jung Seo Park**, **Jae Hoon Kim**, **Jong Gye Shin**, **and Kwang Hee Ko** for their paper "Improved Triangle Heating for Automated Thermal Forming System."

# THE AMERICAN BUREAU OF SHIPPING--CAPTAIN JOSEPH H. LINNARD PRIZE

The Linnard Prize is presented to the author(s) of the best paper contributed to the Proceedings of the Society, as recommended by the Annual Meeting Papers Committee, the 2014 American Bureau of Shipping-Captain Joseph H. Linnard Prize will be presented to **Apostolos Papanikolaou** for his paper "GOALDS – Goal Based Damage Stability of Passenger Ships."

## VICE ADMIRAL E. L. COCHRANE AWARD

This award is presented to the author of the best peer-reviewed paper published by the Society from conferences, symposia, "Featured Papers", non ship production papers of the Journal of Ship Production and Design, and non archival papers presented at the Annual Meeting. The 2014 Vice Admiral E. L. Cochrane Award will be presented to **Bruce Johnson, William Lasher, Matt Erdman, Jan Miles, and Bill Curry** for their paper "Uncertainties in the Wind-Heel Analysis of Traditional Sailing Vessels: The Challenges It Presents for Forensic Analysis of Sailing Incidents" presented at the 24<sup>th</sup> Chesapeake Sailing Yacht Symposium, March 2013.

#### **CERTIFICATES OF APPRECIATION**

Certificates of Appreciation for outstanding, dedicated service to the Society will be presented to:

**Rosalind Perry Martin** Administrative Assistant Naval Engineering Education Center (NEEC, for her contribution to the support of the NEEC program.

**Athanasios Kyratsous** President of the ELKCO Marine Group of Companies, for continuous and outstanding support of SNAME, with the Greek Section and the SNAME European Regional Office (SERO) since 2002.

**David Helgerson and Alexander Landsburg** for their efforts in the Headquarters relocation from Jersey City, NJ to Alexandria, VA.

<u>DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARDS</u> – The 2014 DSA award "for dedicated personal service and/or technical contributions to the Society" will be presented to **David Singer.** 

#### THE FACULTY ADVISOR OF THE YEAR AWARD

The Faculty Advisor of the Year Award is presented to a Faculty Advisor from a SNAME Student Section for his/her leadership and service qualities that have contributed to the program and operations of a Student Section of the Society. The 2013 Award will be presented to **Michael Kazek**, California Maritime Academy Student Section. In addition to recognizing an outstanding Faculty Advisor, thanks to a generous donation by Bruce and Dorothy Rylander Johnson, a \$5,000 Scholarship, namely, the Bruce and Dorothy Rylander Johnson Scholarship will be awarded to a deserving student member from the California Maritime Academy Student Section.

<u>THE 2014 STUDENT PAPER AWARDS -</u> are awarded for the preparation and presentation of papers of outstanding merit and originality at the student level contributed to a meeting of the Society or one of the Sections.

#### **Graduate Paper Honor Prize**

**Lu Wang** for his paper "Nonlinear Waves Generated by a Moving Pressure Patch in Arbitrary Water Depth and the Implied Zero-Wave-Resistance (ZWR) Conditions" presented at the Northern California Section on March 19, 2014.

#### **Graduate Paper Award**

LT Jeff White, LT Matt Williams, and LT Ryan Zachar for their paper "LCS heavy Lift Tender (AL-1)." presented at the New England Section on February 27, 2014.

#### **Undergraduate Paper Honor Prize**

**Connor R. Timmins** for his paper "Yaw Stability of a Recreational Stepped Planing Hull" presented at the Chesapeake Section on April 24, 2014.

#### **Undergraduate Paper Award**

Max Caballero, David Carrier, Jack Hamel, and Lexie Ludewig for their paper "Design of a Dual-Fueled, New Panamax Containership" presented at the New England Section on February 27, 2014.

## Carole Herzog-8/27/2014