

SNAME Congratulates Winning Authors of Best Papers Presented at 2012 Offshore Technology Conference (OTC)

The 8th Annual SNAME OTC Reception, held on Monday, April 30th, at the Hotel ZaZa's Grapevine Room in Houston, Texas, celebrated the accomplishments of SNAME members in the offshore industry as guests looked forward to another successful year for the Conference. Attendees included the top leaders and professionals in the industry. Along with recognizing significant events and accomplishments, the awards for best papers offered by SNAME members at OTC were presented to the winning authors.

This year, submissions for the Best Papers Award included 14 papers by SNAME member authors. On the Review Committee, 11 members served as Peer Reviewers. After careful consideration, there was a runoff of 6 papers with the closest results in our history.

President Edward N. Comstock. Executive Director Erik W. Seither, along with President-Elect Peter G. Noble and Rod J. Allan, past OTC Director and Board Chairman and current Chair of the SNAME Offshore Activities Steering Committee were on hand to congratulate the following individuals for their outstanding efforts:



Second Place, Tie (left to right): Erik Seither, Executive Director; Ed Comstock, President; John Stiff, Author; Mike Hoyle, Author; Peter Noble, President-Elect



- First place: New Marine Era for Gas Author: John F. Hatley PE, Wartsila North America, Inc
- Second place (tie): U.S. Coast Guard Review of Natural Gas Fueled Vessels Authors: Timothy E. Meyers PE, and LT Nicholas A. Woessner, U.S. Coast Guard

John Hatley, 1st Place Author

- Second place (tie): Background to the ISO 19905-series and an Overview of the New ISO 19905-1 for the Site-Specific Assessment of Mobile Jack-Up Units Authors: M.J.R. Hoyle, GL-Noble Denton, J.J. Stiff, ABSG Consulting Inc., R.J. Hunt, Shell U.K. Limited
- Fourth place: The Benchmarking of the New ISO for the Site Specific Assessment of Mobile Offshore Jack-Up Units Authors: John Stiff, ABSG Consulting, Inc., David Lewis, Lewis Engineering Group



Rod Allan, Chair, SNAME Offshore Activities Steering Committee

The Society recognizes and thanks Darrel Harvey, Chair of the OTC SNAME Subcommittee for the Technical Program and all of the members of the subcommittee – Donald Burris (Vice Chair), Shiladitya Basu, Craig Colby, Tomasz Matlak, Barbara Stone, Xiaochuan Yu, and Jason Petten. There were several sessions developed by the SNAME subcommittee: "Advances in Floating LNG Technology", "ISO 19905-1: A Site-Specific Assessment of Mobile Jack-Up Units", and "Design Issues and Trends for Offshore Service Vessels". The Technical Program is an important source of much original knowledge and creativity, which our Society shares with the entire maritime and offshore community.

The Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers is an internationally recognized non-profit, technical, professional society of individual members serving the maritime and offshore industries and their suppliers. Founded in 1893, the Society comprises over 8,000 individuals throughout the United States, Canada and abroad. Membership is open to all qualified applicants in or associated with the maritime, offshore, and small craft industries

The Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers

601 Pavonia Ave. Jersey City, NJ 07306 • phone (201) 798-4800 • fax (201) 798-4975 • <u>www.SNAME.org</u>