January 15 2015

January 15 2015

Technical Meeting Report on: Theses Competition of four students of the School of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering at the National Technical University of Athens (NTUA), presented on 15 January, 2015.

                                                                                         By Petros Lalangas

The Greek Section had its fifth technical meeting on January 15, 2015 for the 2014-2015 season, during which four diploma theses completed during 2014 were presented in front of 31 members and non-members. The meeting was attended also by Prof. Sander Calisal, Dean of the Piri Reis University in Tuzla, Istanbul, Turkey and four of his students in the Department of NA & ME.

Each of these theses had been submitted by a different division of the School of NA & ME  and were as follows (authors in alphabetical order): 
1. Vlassios Fourkas: "Corrosion Behavior on Super-Hydrophobic Surfaces on Copper Substrate in 3.5% NaCL Solution". Supervisor Prof. D. Pantelis
2. Theodoros Ioannou: "Flexible Vibrating Elliptic Ring:  A New System of Ship Propulsion". Supervisor: Prof. G. Politis.
3. Ioannis Papadonikolakis: "Combined Model Reference Adaptive Control as a Load Control System on a Marine Diesel Engine". Supervisor Prof. G. Papalambrou.
4. Ilias Soultanias: "Parametric Ship Design and Holistic Optimization of a 9k TEU Containership". Supervisor: Prof. A. Papanikolaou.

A committee of six persons graded the theses and the winner was Ilias Soultanias, who received a prize of €300 from the Greek Section. All four theses were of top quality.  The other three students received as a gift a copy each of the SNAME text book “ Ship Production”.

Following the theses presentations, the traditional Vassilopita cake was cut for the new year and the winner of the lucky coin was the chairman of the Greek Section Dr. John Kokarakis, who received the Greek Section’s gift to the authors, a silver coated paper weight.  Then, a reception took place in the hospitable premises of Maran & Alpha Tankers, where the technical meeting took place as well. 

Chairman Dr. John Kokarakis cutting the New Year's cake (vassilopita). 

Ilias Soultanias, the winning student, receiving the 300.00 euro prize from chairman John Kokarakis

NTUA Theses Competition competing students
From the left: Prof. G. Papalambrou, Prof. A. Papanikolaou, I. Soultanias, I. Papadonikolakis, J. Kokarakis, T. Ioannou, V. Fourkas and P. Lalangas

John Kokarakis accepting from Prof. Calisal the Piri Reis University plaque in the presence of four Piri Reis University students.

The presentation of Ilias Soultanias, the winning student, can be found below: Presentation, I. Soultanias, 15 January 2015.pdf