David W. Taylor Medal

Notable Achievement in Naval Architecture and/or Marine Engineering

The 2017 David W. Taylor Medalist

Dr. John C. Daidola, P.E.


Dr. John C. Daidola, P.E. (BSE and MSE in NA&ME, University of Michigan and PhD in Ocean Engineering, Stevens Institute of Technology) is widely recognized as a leader in ship design, ship vibratory response, ship maneuverability, and ship survivability during grounding and collision.

Dr. Daidola’s research includes research on the hull response in waves, as well as a probabilistic design for subdivision and structural design of crude oil and product tankships. He applied this design approach to the study of hull integrity in grounding and collisions and provided detailed design recommendations on increasing a ship’s ability to avoid environmental pollution from oil discharge. He later expanded his ship structure design methodology to the structural design of icebreakers and other ships navigating in ice. He also applied his maneuvering expertise on behalf of the U.S. Coast Guard in development of the IMO requirements on maneuverability for commercial ships and the NATO ANEP requirements for naval vessels. He was the project director for the initial design of the TAGS 39 ocean survey ships as well as for their later conversion into the Maine Maritime and California Maritime training ships.

Dr. Daidola, who spent a majority of his design career at the naval architecture and marine engineering firm, M. Rosenblatt & Son, Inc. and its successors, also worked at Newport News Shipbuilding and John J. McMullen & Associates. He has authored 80 publications on a variety of subjects of interest to the industry. He is an adjunct professor at Stevens Institute of Technology and the US Merchant Marine Academy and is currently a professor of ship structures at Webb Institute as well as the President of his own naval architecture and marine engineering firm, AENY.

Established by the Executive Committee in 1935 and was first awarded in 1936

The award will be for "Notable Achievement in Naval Architecture and/or Marine Engineering." The title will be "The David W. Taylor Medal." The medal will be made of gold-plated bronze approximately 2 1/2 inches (6.25 cm) in diameter, one side to show likeness of Admiral Taylor, the other side to show an inscription of award. Eligibility for the medal need not be limited to membership in the Society. The proposal for award may be made by a member of the Society in good standing. The selection of the nominee for the award shall be made by the Awards Committee of the Society. The nomination by the Committee and final award by the Council will require a two-thirds vote of the Committee and of the Council. Notification of the award will be made prior to the Annual Meeting and the medal will be presented with suitable ceremonies at the Annual Meeting or at such time as the President of the Society may arrange. The medal may be awarded annually but not more often.

Medals and Awards Nomination Form

Taylor Medalists

2017 Dr. John C. Daidola, P.E.

2016 Dracos Vassalos

2015 Donald Blount

2014 Howard Fireman

2013 Jeom Kee Paik

2012 Kirsi K. Tikka

2011 Armin W. Troesch

2010 Peter Tang-Jensen

2009 Joseph P. Fischer

2008 Bruce L. Hutchison

2007 Hans G. Payer

2006 Edward N. Comstock

2005 Robert G. Allan

2004 Donald Liu

2003 Robert G. Keane, Jr.

2002 R. Keith Michel

2001 Peter A. Gale

2000 Thomas G. Lang

1999 Robert J. Scott

1998 Thomas S. Winslow

1997 George R. Knight, Jr.

1996 Roy L. Harrington

1995 John W. Boylston

1994 Robert P. Giblon*

1993 Harry A. Jackson*

1992Justin E. Kerwin

1991 Douglas Faulkner*

1990 Lorenzo Spinelli

1989 Clark Graham

1988 Lawrence R. Glosten*

1987 John B. Caldwell

1986 Robert N. Herbert*

1985 J. Randolph Paulling, Jr.

1984 Jan D. Van Manen*

1983 Jens T. Holm*

1982 Jacques B. Hadler

1981 ERwin Carl Rohde*

1980 Peter M. Palermo*

1979 Philip F. Spaulding*


1978 John J. Nachtsheim*

1977 James J. Henry*

1976 Harry Benford

1975 James B. Robertson, Jr.*

1974 Roger E.M. Brard*

1973 Jerome L. Goldman

1972 John R. Kane*

1971 Phillip Eisenberg*

1970 Ludwig C. Hoffmann*

1969 Douglas C. MacMillan*

1968 Matthew G. Forrest*

1967 Wilson D. Leggett, Jr.*

1966 Richard B. Couch*

1965 John P. Comstock*

1964 Henry A. Schade*

1963 Arthur D. Gatewood*

1962 Charles D. Wheelock*

1961 Mark L. Ireland, Jr.*

1960 Glenn B. Warren*

1959 Olin J. Stephens, II*

1958 John C. Niedermair*

1957 David P. Brown*

1956 Andrew I. McKee*

1955 Kenneth S.M. Davidson*

1954 Edwin L. Stewart*

1953 John E. Burkhardt*

1951 C. Richard Waller*

1950 Harold E. Saunders*

1949 George G. Sharp*

1948 Earle W. Mills*

1947 David Arnott*

1946 William Francis Gibbs*

1945 Edward L. Cochrane*

1943 William Hovgaard*

1942 Samuel M. Robinson*

1940 John F. Metten*

1939 Hugo P. Frear*

1938 W.L.R. Emmet*

1936 David Watson Taylor*