Medals & Awards

Recognize an Outstanding Professional

Nominate a Colleague for a Medal or an Award

Medals Nomination Deadline - MAY 1

Medals and Awards Nomination Form

If you have any questions or would like to submit a nomination, please contact Sofia Iliogrammenou by email at:

Awards and medals are awarded at major SNAME events such as the annual Banquet at the SNAME Maritime Convention and the SNAME-OTC Reception.

2019 Medalists

The David W. Taylor Medal
Jeffrey J. Hough

The Blakely Smith Medal
Richard D'Souza

The Francis T. Bowles Medal
Margaret Nate

The Vice Admiral Emory S. “Jerry” Land Medal
Mike Petters

The William H. Webb Medal
Bruce H. Adee


2019 Awards

Elmer A. Sperry Award
George A. ‘Sandy’ Thomson

William M. Kennedy Award
Lee G. Kvidahl

ABS – Captain Joseph H. Linnard Prize
Robert G. Keane, Jr. and Capt. Barry Tibbitts, USN (Ret.)

Vice Admiral E. L. Cochrane Award
Babak Shabani, Jason Lavroff, Michael R. Davis, Damien S. Holloway and Giles Thomas

Bruce and Dorothy Rylander Johnson Faculty Advisor of the Year Award
Mark A. Parsons