William M. Kennedy Award

Outstanding Service and Contribution in the Development of Systems and Planning Applying to Shipbuilding and Ship Repair

The William M. Kennedy Award

James F. Hughes

James F Hughes

Jim Hughes is the retired vice president of Submarines and Fleet Support at Newport News Shipbuilding, a division of Huntington Ingalls Industries in Newport News, Va. Named to that position in 2011, Hughes was responsible for all aspects of the Virginia-class submarine construction program, Ohio replacement support program, as well as submarine fleet maintenance in Newport News and ongoing fleet support activities conducted world-wide.

From 2008 until 2011, Hughes served as vice president for In-Service Aircraft Carriers and was responsible for planning and executing aircraft carrier overhaul programs and fleet support work. He began his career at Newport News Shipbuilding in 1981, as an engineer in Aircraft Carrier Engineering. Subsequently, he worked in various positions of increasing responsibility including engineering supervisor, engineering manager, design manager, trades manager and director of Aircraft Carrier Engineering. He also served as program director for the USS Carl Vinson refueling and complex overhaul and oversaw the cost, schedule and work performance for the project.

Hughes earned a bachelor's degree in electrical engineering from Virginia Tech and a master’s degree in business administration from the College of William and Mary. He is a member of the American Society of Naval Engineers, the Navy League, the Naval Submarine League, the Naval Institute and the Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers.

Established by the Executive Committee in 1980 in accordance with the terms of his will

The award will be for "Outstanding Service and Contribution in the Development of Systems and Planning Applying to Shipbuilding and Ship Repair." The title will be "The William M. Kennedy Award." The award consists of a certificate suitably framed plus one thousand dollars. Eligibility for the award need not be limited to membership in SNAME. The proposal for this award may be made by a member of the Society in good standing. The selection of the nominee for the award shall be made by the Awards Committee of the Society. Announcement and presentation of the award will be made at the Ship Production Symposium or at such time as the President of the Society may arrange. The award may be made annually but not more often.

Medals and Awards Nomination Form

Kennedy Recipients

2017 James F. Hughes
2016 Harvey B. Walpert
2015 Dennis Fanguy
2014 Albert L. Bossier, Jr.
2013 Arthur W. Divens
2012 Richard Self
2011 W. David Whiddon
2010 Richard Lee Storch
2009 Michael W. Toner
2008 Robert L. Gunter
2007 Jay P. Carson
2006 Tim Colton
2005 Arnold P. Moore
2004 John Holmander
2003 Michael W. Butler
2002 Frederick J. Harris
2001 No Recipient
2000 Janice S. Grace
1999 No Recipient
1998 No Recipient
1997 Jan R. Erickson
1996 Richard A. Goldbach
1995 W. Patrick Keene
1994 Thomas Lamb
1993 Chester L. Long*
1991 W. R. (Pat) Phillips, Jr.
1990 Mark S. O’Hare
1989 Donald W. Challinor*
1988 Raymond Pearlson
1987 Ralph Anselmi
1986 Thomas C. Rosebraugh
1985 John J. Garvey
1984 Peter E. Jaquith
1983 Charles J. Starkenberg
1982 Daniel M. Mack-Forlist
1981 Louis D. Chirillo