The Vice Admiral E.L.Cochrane Award

Best Peer-Reviewed Paper Published by SNAME from Conferences, Symposia, “Featured Papers,” Non Ship Production Papers of the Journal of Ship Production and Design, and Non Archival Papers Presented at the Annual Meeting

Babak Shabani

Babak Shabani
Jason Lavroff

Jason Lavroff
Michael R. Davis

Michael R. Davis
Damien S. Holloway

Damien S. Holloway
Giles Thomas

Giles Thomas

for their paper
"Slam Loads and Kinematics of Wave-Piercing Catamarans during Bow Entry Events in Head Seas"
Journal of Ship Research, September 2018

Honorable Mentions
Arno Dubois, MSc, Dr. Zhi Quan Leong, Dr. Hung Duc Nguyen and Prof. Jonathan Richard Binns
for their paper
"Hydrodynamic Performance Analysis of a Collective and Cyclic Pitch Propeller under Bollard Pull Condition through Numerical Evaluation of Two-Dimensional Pitching Hydrofoils"
Journal of Ship Research, December 2018

Dr. Arun Kr Dev
for his paper
"Various Aspects of Bollard Pull Tests and Analysis of Test Results"
Journal of Ship Production and Design, August 2018

This award was instituted by the Executive Committee in 1961

to succeed The President’s Award, which was first presented in 1946. The award will be presented to the author of the best peer-reviewed paper published by SNAME from conferences, symposia, “Featured Papers”, non ship production papers of the Journal of Ship Production and Design, and non archival papers presented at the Annual Meeting. Note that ship production papers are considered for the Elmer L. Hann Award and Archival Papers are considered for the American Bureau of Shipping - Captain Joseph H. Linnard Prize. The title of the award is "The Vice Admiral E. L. Cochrane Award." The award is a medallion suitably inscribed. Eligibility for the award need not be limited to membership in SNAME. In the case of co-authors, each receives an award. The “Featured Papers” Committee will recommend to the Awards Committee one Cochrane Award nominee, and two Honorable Mention nominees for the Cochrane Award based on their evaluation of significance of the paper’s subject, originality and technical quality. The nomination will require a majority vote of the Awards Committee. Announcement and notification of the award will be made upon approval by the Awards Committee. The award will be presented with suitable ceremonies at such time as the President of SNAME may arrange. The award may be bestowed annually but not more often.

Cochrane Recipients

2019 Babak Shabani, Jason Lavroff, Michael R. Davis, Damien S. Holloway and Giles Thomas
2018 Dr. Florian Sprenger, Dr. Adolfo Marón, Dr. Guillaume Delefortrie, Thibaut Van Zwijnsvoorde, MSc, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Andres Cura Hochbaum, Antonio Lengwinat, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Habil. Apostolos Papanikolaou
2017 Vincent Wickenheiser and Karl Stambaugh
2016 Franz Von Bock Und Polach, Soren Ehlers, Stein Ove Erikstad
2015 Dejan V. Radojčić, Michael G. Morabito, Aleksandar P. Simić and Antonio B. Zgradić
2014 Bruce Johnson, William Lasher, Matthew Erdman, Jan Miles, and Bill Curry
2013 Bruce W. T. Quinton, Claude G. Daley, and Robert E. Gagnon
2012 Daniel Savitsky and Michael Morabito
2011 Tin-Wo Yang, Robert E. Sandstrom, Haipeng He, and Moses K. Minta
2010 Yasuhira Yamada
2009 Vadim Belensky, Jan Otto deKat, Naoya Umeda
2008 Junbo Jia,Jonas W. Ringsberg
2007 Daniel Savitsky, Michael F. DeLorme, Raju Datla
2006 Wilhelm Magelssen
2005 Alexander C. Landsburg, Roderick A. Barr, Larry L. Daggett, Wei-Yuan Hwang, Bent K. Jakobsen, Michael A. Morris, Lou C. Vest
2004 Jeom Kee Paik, Jae Myung Lee, Joon Sung Hwang, Young Il Park
2003 William N. France, Mark Levadou, Thomas W. Treakel, J. Randolph Paulling, R. Keith Michel, Colin Moore
2002 Samson C. Stevens & Michael G.Parsons
2001 Duncan T. MacLane
2000 Frank Dvorak, Lawrence B. Elliot, Kenneth Fox, Stanley C. Stumbo
1999 Michael Dyer
1998 Roger H. Compton & Howard A. Chatterton; Jr.
1997 Ou Kitamura
1996 William H. Garzke, Jr., David K. Brown, Arthur D. Sandiford, John B. Woodward & Peter K. Hsu
1995 David J. Witmer & Jack W. Lewis;
1994 Henry T. Chen & Peter B. Lacey
1993 John L. Allison
1992 Daniel T. Melitz, Eric J. Robertson & Nicholas J. Davison
1991 Donald L. Blount &Louis T. Codega
1990 Jay P. Carson & Barbara Lamb
1989 David S. Greeley & John H. Cross-Whiter
1988 G. Robert Lamb
1987 Christopher Cressy, Martin Fritts, John Letcher & Clay Oliver
1986 V. Laskow, P. A. Spencer & I. M. Bayly
1985 Michael G. Parsons & Richard W. Harkins
1984 Archibald C. Churcher, Alex Kolomojcev & Geoff Hubbard
1983 Watt D. Burton, Jr,
1982 Robert D. Tagg
1981 Roy L. Harrington
1980 W. C. Cowles
1979 Thomas N. Sanderlin ,Stuart M. Williams & Robert D. Jamieson
1978 John R. Kane
1977 Frank S. Chou
1976 Alexander C. Landsburg & John M. Cruikshank
1975 Guy C. Volcy
1974 William H. Garzke, Jr., Ralph E. Johnson & Alexander C. Landsburg
1973 John E. Ancarrow, Jr. & Roy L. Harrington
1972 Frederic A. Thoma
1971 E. Scott Dillon
1970 John P. Breslin
1969 Thomas Lamb
1968 D. C. Tolefson & Leonard Brand
1967 R. L. Harrington & W. S. Vorus
1966 William J. Dorman
1965 Hugh Y. H. Yeh
1964 Daniel Savitsky
1963 Irving P. Vatz & Robert F. Williams, Jr.
1962 E. Scott Dillon, Francis G. Ebel & Andrew R. Goobeck
1961 William E. Lehr, Jr. & Edwin L. Parker
1960 Chester L. Long, John L. Stevens, Jr. & John T. Tompkins, Jr.
1959 J. E. McGill
1958 Louis L. Shook, Jr. & Chester L. Long
1957 Harry Benford
1956 Laurens Troost
1955 John McDougall & Daniel T. Mallett
1954 Charles D. Roach
1953 Robert P. Giblon, William Elmer, Jr. & John F. Nace
1952 J. D. VanManen & Laurens Troost
1951 Mark L. Ireland, Jr., M. D. Wheeler & L. E. Spencer
1950 Arthur R. Gatewood
1949 Harold G. Acker
1948 C. Richard Waller
1947 Charles H. Johnson
1947 Ralph F. Symonds & Henry O. Trowbridge
1946 K. S. M. Davidson