The Dr. Kenneth S. M. Davidson Medal

Outstanding Scientific Accomplishment in Ship Research

Claude Daley
Professor Claude Daley

Department of Ocean and Naval Architectural Engineering, Memorial University of Newfoundland

Professor Claude Daley is a renowned expert in the field of ship structures, with a focus on ice class ships. Professor Daley is currently Associate Dean for Research in the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science at Memorial. Dr. Daley has been working in the field of cold ocean Engineering for thirty-nine years and is considered one of the world’s leading specialists in ice class ship structures. He played a lead role in the development of the world’s Polar Shipping rules (the IACS Unified Requirements - URI), and one of its main precursors, the Canadian Arctic Shipping Pollution Prevention Regulations. He began his work in ice mechanics and polar ocean engineering when he joined Arctec Canada Limited in 1979. At Arctec he developed an approach to research which he has maintained throughout his career. That approach has been to link the strengths and energies of collaborators in industry, government and academia, and to appreciate how all play a valuable role in addressing challenging issues. He joined Memorial University in 1995, where he continued in and led a wide variety of research and commercial activities, as well as taking on many internal leadership and service roles. At Memorial he soon realized how stimulating and valuable the teaching side of a University position is, and how it strengthens and benefits the instructor, as well as (hopefully) the instructed. Dr. Daley has served in multiple voluntary positions in Professional boards, committees and organizations. He engages in collaborations with many universities, government agencies and industrial organizations around the world. He is a Fellow of SNAME, a Fellow of Engineers Canada and a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering.

Established by the Executive Committee in 1959

The award will be for "Outstanding Scientific Accomplishment in Ship Research." The title will be "The Davidson Medal." The medal will be made of gold-plated bronze, approximately 2 1/2 inches (6.25 cm) in diameter, the obverse side showing a profile of Dr. Davidson and the reverse side carrying an inscription of the award. Eligibility for the medal need not be limited to membership in the Society. The proposal for this award may be made by a member of the Society in good standing. The selection of the nominee for the award shall be made by the Awards Committee of the Society. The nomination by the Committee and the final award by the Council will require a two-thirds vote of the Committee and of the Council. Notification of the award will be made prior to the Annual Meeting and the medal will be presented with suitable ceremonies at the Annual Meeting or at such time as the President of the Society may arrange. The medal may be awarded biennially but not more often.

Medals and Awards Nomination Form

Davidson Medalists

2018 Professor Claude Daley

2016 Professor Torgeir Moan

2014 Professor Jorgen J. Jensen

2012 Arthur M. Reed

2010 Aposotolos D. Papanikolaou

2008 Stuart D. Jessup

2006 Preben T. Pedersen

2004 Ronald W. Yeung

2002 Nils Salvesen

2000 Robert F. Beck

1998 Alaa E. Mansour

1996 Daniel Savitsky

1994 Michael K. Ochi

1992 William C. Webster

1990 John F. Dalzell*

1988 J. Nicholas Newman

1986 William B. Morgan

1984 John V. Wehausen*

1982 John P. Breslin

1980 Manley St. Denis*

1978 Louis Landweber*

1976 J. Harvey Evans*

1974 William E. Cummins*

1972 Georg P. Weinblum*

1970 B.V. Korvin-Kroukovsky*

1967 Frederick H. Todd*

1965 Edward V. Lewis*

1963 Karl E. Schoenherr*

1961 Frank M. Lewis*

1959 Kenneth S.M. Davidson*