The William M. Kennedy Award

Outstanding Service and Contribution in the Development of Systems and Planning Applying to Shipbuilding and Ship Repair

Lee G. Kvidahl

Lee G. Kvidahl

Lee Kvidahl recently retired from Ingalls Shipbuilding after 43 years, leaving from the position of Manager, Welding Engineering. He is a Bachelor of Engineering graduate of Stevens Institute of Technology and was involved in the shipbuilding industry for 48 years. His experience includes performing welding engineering work on nuclear power plants, new construction of many classes of surface ships and the overhaul/repair of submarines and surface ships for the US Navy and US Coast Guard. He was involved in many leading edge technologies for the construction of US Navy combat ships including the certification of HSLA 80 steels, the application of ceramic backing for one side butt welding, the use of small diameter flux cored welding electrodes for all position welding and the introduction of the hybrid laser welding process for butt welds in steel plates. In addition to working at Ingalls, he was the long time chairman of the Welding Technology Panel of the National Shipbuilding Research Program and is a Past President and Counselor of the American Welding Society.

Established by the Executive Committee in 1980 in accordance with the terms of his will

The award will be for "Outstanding Service and Contribution in the Development of Systems and Planning Applying to Shipbuilding and Ship Repair." The title will be "The William M. Kennedy Award." The award consists of a certificate suitably framed plus one thousand dollars. Eligibility for the award need not be limited to membership in SNAME. The proposal for this award may be made by a member of the Society in good standing. The selection of the nominee for the award shall be made by the Awards Committee of the Society. Announcement and presentation of the award will be made at the Ship Production Symposium or at such time as the President of the Society may arrange. The award may be made annually but not more often.

Medals and Awards Nomination Form

Kennedy Recipients

2019 Lee G. Kvidahl
2018 Paul J. Albert
2017 James F. Hughes
2016 Harvey B. Walpert
2015 Dennis Fanguy
2014 Albert L. Bossier, Jr.
2013 Arthur W. Divens
2012 Richard Self
2011 W. David Whiddon
2010 Richard Lee Storch
2009 Michael W. Toner
2008 Robert L. Gunter
2007 Jay P. Carson
2006 Tim Colton
2005 Arnold P. Moore
2004 John Holmander
2003 Michael W. Butler
2002 Frederick J. Harris
2001 No Recipient
2000 Janice S. Grace
1999 No Recipient
1998 No Recipient
1997 Jan R. Erickson
1996 Richard A. Goldbach
1995 W. Patrick Keene
1994 Thomas Lamb
1993 Chester L. Long*
1991 W. R. (Pat) Phillips, Jr.
1990 Mark S. O’Hare
1989 Donald W. Challinor*
1988 Raymond Pearlson
1987 Ralph Anselmi
1986 Thomas C. Rosebraugh
1985 John J. Garvey
1984 Peter E. Jaquith
1983 Charles J. Starkenberg
1982 Daniel M. Mack-Forlist
1981 Louis D. Chirillo