The William H. Webb Medal

Outstanding Contributions to Education in Naval Architecture, Marine or Ocean Engineering

Bruce H. Adee

Bruce H. Adee
University of Washington

"I was born in Brooklyn and grew up in the Long Island area of New York. While in high school I decided I was interested in becoming a naval architect. Not being certain of this choice, I sought the advice of Mathew Forest and 
following that meeting decided to seek a broader educational goal. I attended Princeton University graduating with honors. In the summers I worked at M. Rosenblatt & Son. The lure of naval architecture led me to seek graduate study at the University of California, Berkeley where I obtained Masters and PhD Degrees. It was a privilege to work under the direction of Professors Wehausen, Schade and PaullingWhile studying at Berkeley I was fortunate to win the Graduate Paper Honor Prize for a paper presented in San Francisco.  As I was completing my studies at Berkeley a job became available at The University of Washington. I spent the next 42 years as a professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department. My research included ship resistance, ship dynamics and fishing vessel safety. My SNAME activities have included holding most of the offices at the local section including chair and national vice president.  I am a 50-year member and Fellow of the Society.  I have been married as long as being a SNAME member and have 2 grown sons."

Established by the Executive Committee in 1987.

The award will be for "Outstanding Contributions to Education in Naval Architecture, Marine or Ocean Engineering". "The title will be "The Webb Medal. "The medal will be made of gold-plated bronze, approximately 2 1/2 inches (6.25 cm) in diameter, the obverse side showing a profile of William H. Webb and the reverse side carrying an inscription of the award. Eligibility for the medal need not be limited to membership in the Society. The proposal for this award may be made by a member of the Society in good standing. The selection of the nominee for the award shall be made by the Awards Committee of the Society. The nomination by the Committee and the final award by the Council will require a two-thirds vote of the Committee and of the Council. Notification of the award will be made prior to the Annual Meeting and the medal will be presented with suitable ceremonies at the Annual Meeting or at such time as the President of the Society may arrange. The medal may be awarded annually but not more often.

Medals and awards Nomination Form

Webb Medalists

2019     Dr Bruce Adee

2018      Edwin G. Wiggins

2017      Dr. Bruce Johnson

2015      Dr. Alan J. Brown

2013      Henry S. Marcus

2011      Jacques B. Hadler

2009      William S. Vorus 

2007      Roger H. Compton

2005      Robert E. Randall

2003      Michael G. Parsons

2001      Robert B. Zubaly

1999      Walter M. Maclean

1997      José Femenia

1995      Moses Hirschkowitz

1993      Howard M. Bunch

1991      Amelio M. D’Arcangelo*

1989      T. Francis Ogilvie