Dr. James A. Lisnyk Student Ship Design Competition

The Lisnyk Student Ship Design Competition challenges groups of young people to design theoretical but practical
cutting-edge vessels. Open to the world's colleges and universities supporting maritime careers, the program
has fostered teamwork and learning through competition.




Past Competition Winners

2016  First Place - University of British Columbia: Olekiy Serduy, Vincent Chung, James Cardno, Jaden Jae Young Yoo, Antonio Peralta

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Chris McKesson

Second Place -United States Coast Guard Academy: Kasun Athukorala, Avery Fanning, Matthew Orgill

Faculty Advisor: CDR Thomas W. DeNucci

Third Place (tie)- University of Michigan: Taylor Allen, Andrew Earhart, Robert Emmitt, Mark Parra-Stostrand

Faculty Advisor: Matthew Collette, PHD. PE

Third Place (tie) - Maritime College, State University of New York: Nathan Nelson, Luke Levasseur, Jonathan Nothacker, Donald Flaherty, Stephen Herrington

Faculty Advisor: Professor Charles J. Munsch


First Place - University of Michigan: Bradley Olson, Lisa Bergeron, Renee Wiwel, Sean Fabian, Zachary Bayoff

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Matthew Collette

Second Place - United States Coast Guard Academy: James Martin, Lloyd Diaz, Nicholas Couture

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Michael Corl

Third Place - United States Coast Guard Academy: Karlo Vazquez, Lulu Bellm, Sloane Hecimovich, Corrin Nolin

Faculty Advisor: LCDR Dan Cost

2017 Competition Rules and Requirements


Entry Applications Due:
On or before March 1, 2017

Owner’s Requirements Due:
On or before March 1, 2017

Designs Submitted:
On or before June 12, 2017

Winning Teams Notified:
September 2017

Awards Announced and Presented:
October 2017 at the SNAME Annual Meeting in Houston, Texas

Designs received after the June 12, 2017, deadline will not be judged nor considered for an award.

Individuals or teams intending to enter a design in the competition are urged to submit an Entry Form (copy attached) in hard copy or pdf form prior to starting work to:

Mr. Sean P. Walsh, P.E.

1211 S. Eads Street, # 1406

Arlington, VA  22202

or to: spwalsh54@verizon.net

The completed design report must be submitted via e-mail, or by CD to one of the above addresses on or before June 12, 2017.  Hard copies will be accepted but are discouraged.