William H. Webb Medal

Outstanding Contributions to Education in Naval Architecture, Marine or Ocean Engineering

The 2015 Webb Medalist

Dr. Alan J. Brown

Established by the Executive Committee in 1987.

The award will be for "Outstanding Contributions to Education in Naval Architecture, Marine or Ocean Engineering". "The title will be "The Webb Medal. "The medal will be made of gold-plated bronze, approximately 2 1/2 inches (6.25 cm) in diameter, the obverse side showing a profile of William H. Webb and the reverse side carrying an inscription of the award. Eligibility for the medal need not be limited to membership in the Society. The proposal for this award may be made by a member of the Society in good standing. The selection of the nominee for the award shall be made by the Awards Committee of the Society. The nomination by the Committee and the final award by the Council will require a two-thirds vote of the Committee and of the Council. Notification of the award will be made prior to the Annual Meeting and the medal will be presented with suitable ceremonies at the Annual Meeting or at such time as the President of the Society may arrange. The medal may be awarded biennially but not more often.

Medals and awards Nomination Form

Webb Medalists

2015      Dr. Alan J. Brown

2013      Henry S. Marcus

2011      Jacques B. Hadler

2009      William S. Vorus 

2007      Roger H. Compton

2005      Robert E. Randall

2003      Michael G. Parsons

2001      Robert B. Zubaly

1999      Walter M. Maclean

1997      José Femenia

1995      Moses Hirschkowitz

1993      Howard M. Bunch

1991      Amelio M. D’Arcangelo*

1989      T. Francis Ogilvie